jump to navigation

It is Done! April 26, 2011

Posted by Pam in KC in miniature.
trackback


But why?

The Kaw Valley Quilt Guild Quilt Show is this Saturday and Sunday, April 30th & May 1st 10, 10 AM – 5 PM in Lawrence, Kansas. More information can be found here.

As part of the mini-quilt silent auction, there is a category for recreations of a historic or family quilt.

Select any historic or family quilt and Re-Create it as a miniature quilt. Size should not exceed 24″ x 24″. The Re-Creatation should be a scaled-down version of the original and include most of the details of the original quilt.

Somewhere along the way I got the impression the quilt should be about 150 years old and I don’t have a family quilt that old. So, I searched The Quilt Index.

I found an Ohio Star dating from 1850 – 1875 (Quilt Index Record: 47-7B-3C7). It’s neither a Kansas or Missouri quilt, but one from Connecticut. What can I say, I was looking for something “easy”.

Back in October Sally Collins was the Guild guest speaker. She talked about making miniature quilts. When I got home, I attempted to make some tiny stars. I was able to make stars which finish at about 3/4″. You can see those here.

The only problem is instead of working on them back in October, I let the project slide. Making stars that small can’t be rushed and since I didn’t pull the project out until two weeks ago, I was rushed. Needless to say, I up-sized the stars to finish at 2″.

But what to do with those tiny stars? I used them on the quilt label. You can see here how they didn’t come out perfect. I’m using a quarter for size comparison — it was a quarter on yesterday’s post as well.

I think this quilt falls into the category of “I’m glad I’ve done it, but I don’t see me doing it again.”

This is quilt #2 of the 7 by June 10 by June.  More on that later.

The quilt, after washing measures 18 1/2″ square. I used Warm & Natural batting and quilted it with Coats Machine Quilting & Crafts Mercerized Cotton size 50 thread. It’s color # 309A Camel.