jump to navigation

What’s Cooking – Spinach January 16, 2013

Posted by Pam in KC in Uncategorized.
trackback

Judy, over at Patchwork Times has started a regular “What’s Cooking” post.  Each week she picks an ingredient for us to use in a recipe.  So far she’s picked Sweet Potatoes – which I love, Carrots – which I have nothing against and now Spinach.

So which week did I try to participate?  Obviously I’ve lost my mind.  I blame it on the still clean house and kitchen.

I happen to love Spanakopita.  My sister-in-law’s mother taught me how to make it — but since I’m the only one who will eat spinach around here I didn’t want to go to the trouble.  So, I did a web search for spinach recipes for people who don’t like spinach and found THIS.

Sounds easy enough I have everything except for the breadcrumbs and spinach.  So off to the store I went.

The only fresh spinach I could find was a salad kit, so I bought it.  I then attempted to figure out how much spinach is in a head of spinach.  Search for spinach ball recipes and decided that I probably only had enough spinach for 1/6th of the original recipe.

01-sp-ingrediants

  • 1 spinach kit (spinach only)
  • 3 T butter – melted
  • 2/3 C Italian bread crumbs
  • 3 T parmesan cheese
  • 1/8 t pepper
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 T chopped onion (in the bowl)
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/8 t thyme

I started by rinsing the spinach, running it through the salad spinner and then tossing it in a covered pan on med-high heat for about 5 minutes.

02-sp-inpan

03-sp-lid

Once it was done, I dumped it on to a paper towel, squeezed out the excess moisture, then chopped it up before adding it to the other ingredients.

Once mixed, I used a my cookie scoop and put 1″ balls of the mixture on a greased cookie sheet.

05-sp-cookieb4

I baked them for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

06-sp-timer

The bottoms were nice and brown. I’m not sure if I would call this finger food. They were tasty enough, but not something I would do again.

07-sp-done

Check out the links over at Patchwork Times for more spinach recipes.  Next week’s ingredient is cream style corn.  I like that!

Comments

1. Judy L. - January 16, 2013

That’s kinda weird because I never heard of a head of spinach. It grows on leaves like mustard greens. Live and learn . . I make a lot of recipes I wouldn’t make again but it is good to try new stuff. Thanks for participating!

2. scrappyhappystarfishy - January 16, 2013

Well, as I tell my family – we never find new favorite recipes unless I try. Some are winners and some are not, but it is always fun trying and in general, we have more successes than not. Cheers! Evelyn

3. Lori in South Dakota - January 18, 2013

ROFL—all I can think of is “spinach cookies”!!! I guess I’m never anywhere that serves fancy finger food. But it was a good try!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry