jump to navigation

What’s On My Design Wall October 17, 2011

Posted by Pam in KC in Uncategorized.
trackback

These 15 blocks from Eleanor Burns Victory Quilts are on my design wall today.  I’m trying to decide if I want to make the other 5 and how I want to set them.  But of course meanwhile, I’ve got a couple of other projects racing through my head.

There’s the overflowing 2″ strip box and the overflowing 2 1/2″ strip box.

As much as I want to root around and find a pattern to use these strips, I keep reminding myself that I have plenty of quilts which need to be finished.  Besides, Bonnie Hunter has promised us a mystery towards the end of the year and hopefully I’ll be able to find what I need from these boxes.

There there is a quilt for my niece who graduates from high school in the spring. Her favorite color is turquoise and she’s not fond of paisley, but other than that any thing goes.  I think I’m going to draw my color inspiration from the fabric peeking from under the strip boxes – but that is as far as I’ve gotten.  It’s a good thing I have 7 months to get the quilt done.  It may take me 6 to figure out what I’m going to do!

In the meantime, I’m going to follow the links over at Patchwork Times to see if I can find some design inspiration from what other quilters are working on .

Comments

1. Vicki - October 17, 2011

love THIS QUILT BECAUSE I made one just like it. I did the on point setting. Great job.

2. kwiltnkats - October 18, 2011

Adding the dog is unusual in this patriotic quilt. I might be inclined to add from the remaining blocks the block that ties the dog in…oh I just noticed the plane so perhaps you don’t need anything else. Sometimes these quilts just get so big… Last I saw mention 11/17 is the day Bonnie’s new mystery will make its way to us! Can’t wait to empty one of my 2 or 2.5 inch containers!!! Sandi

3. Michelle - October 18, 2011

Your sampler blocks are looking great!

4. Gari - October 20, 2011

I just noticed my overflowing 2 and 2.5 strip drawers and was thinking of adding to my strip blocks that I started last winter. As for the setting on your EB quilt, I tend to want to do something different than the suggested settings so my blocks get to hang out on the wall for a while, in between other projects, until they suggest where they want to go. Sampler quilts are great but can become boring if they are all set alike, in rows.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

